Hewlett-Packard,a technology corporation also known as HP,has recently won a domain name case .
HP submitted a complaint to the National Arbitration Forum,requesting the domain name hpservices.com to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
HP has a trademark registration with the United States Patent and Trademark Office for the "HP" mark .
Represented by James F. Struthers,the complainant,contended that the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to its trademark.
Moreover,the complainant contended that the respondent used and registered the domain name in bad faith.
"Respondent’s registration of the <hpservices.com> domain name to link Internet users to a website displaying links to third-party websites, some of which directly compete with Complainant, constitutes a disruption of Complainant’s business and is evidence of bad faith registration and use."
"Respondent is using the confusingly similar disputed domain name to intentionally attract Internet users by creating a strong likelihood of confusion with Complainant’s HP mark and redirect them to third-party websites, some of which directly compete with Complainant. "
Because the respondent failed to submit a response in this proceeding and because the complainant managed to demonstrate all the elements needed,the Panel ordered hpservices.com domain name to be transferred from the respondent to the complainant.
You can see the decision here .

